Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: July 13, 1993

Rating: 4.000 (average of 3 ratings)

Genre: R&B

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Another Sad Love Song
  2. Breathe Again
  3. Seven Whole Days
  4. Love Affair
  5. Candlelight
  6. Spending My Time with You
  7. Love Shoulda Brought You Home
  8. I Belong to You
  9. How Many Ways
  10. You Mean the World to Me
  11. Best Friend
  12. Breathe Again (Reprise)


sales in U.S. only 8 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 10 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 1 2
peak on U.K. album chart 4

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Love Shoulda Brought You Home (10/10/92) #33 US, #33 UK, #2 RB
  • Another Sad Love Song (6/19/93) #7 US, #15 UK, #2 RB, #8 AC. Sales: ½ million. Airplay: 1 million
  • Breathe Again (10/16/93) #1a US, #2 UK, #3a RB, #5 AC. Sales: ½ million. Airplay: 2 million
  • Seven Whole Days (10/23/93) #48a US, #1 RB
  • You Mean the World to Me (3/19/94) #3a US, #30 UK, #2a RB, #4 AC. Sales: ½ million
  • I Belong to You (9/17/94) #28 US, #6 RB
  • How Many Ways (9/17/94) #35 US, #9a RB


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

Toni Braxton
Toni Braxton
“Toni Braxton is both an elegant and earthy songstress, nicely balancing those seemingly divergent sentiments on her self-titled debut disc. Braxton’s husky, enticing voice sounds hypnotic on Breathe Again, dismayed on Another Sad Love Song, and disillusioned on Love Shoulda Brought You Home. But she’s never out of control, indignant, or so anguished and hurt that she fails to retain her dignity. It’s a sign of how great the Babyface/L.A. Reid production team was that they didn’t settle for a defining mood; they presented Braxton with enough diverse emotional settings to hold the interest of urban contemporary males and females” (Wynn).

Review Source(s):

Last updated April 5, 2008.