Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

* compilation *

Recorded: 1965-1967

Charted: Sept. 2, 1967

Rating: 4.511 (average of 13 ratings)

Genre: rock > folk

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Mr. Tambourine Man (Dylan)
  2. I’ll Feel a Whole Lot Better (Clark)
  3. The Bells of Rhymney (Davies / Seeger)
  4. Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is a Season) (Seeger / traditional)
  5. All I Really Want to Do (Dylan)
  6. Chimes of Freedom (Dylan)
  7. Eight Miles High (Clark / Crosby / McGuinn)
  8. Mr. Spaceman (McGuinn)
  9. 5D (Fifth Dimension) (McGuinn)
  10. So You Want to Be a Rock and Roll Star (Hillman / McGuinn)
  11. My Back Pages (Dylan)

Total Running Time: 31:31


sales in U.S. only 1 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 1 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 6
peak on U.K. album chart --

Singles/ Hit Songs:

  • Mr. Tambourine Man (4/12/65) #1 US, #1 UK
  • All I Really Want to Do (6/14/65) #40 UK, #4 US
  • Turn! Turn! Turn! (10/1/65) #1 US, #26 UK
  • It Won’t Be Wrong * (1/10/66) #63 UK
  • Set You Free This Time * (1/10/66) #79 UK
  • Eight Miles High (3/14/66) #14 US, #24 UK
  • 5D (Fifth Dimension) (6/13/66) #44 US
  • Mr. Spaceman (9/6/66) #36 US
  • So You Want to Be a Rock and Roll Star (1/9/67) #29 US
  • My Back Pages (3/13/67) #30 US
  • Have You Seen Her Face * (5/22/67) #74 US
* See Notes.

Notes: Minor hits “It Won’t Be Wrong,” “Set You Free This Time,” and “Have You Seen Her Face” were added to the 1999 CD reissue.

Greatest Hits
The Byrds
“Without question, the Byrds were one of the great bands of the ‘60s and one of the few American bands of their time to continually turn out inventive, compelling albums. As they were recording a series of fine records, they released a number of classic singles that defined their era. The Byrds' Greatest Hits does an excellent job of chronicling the peak years of their popularity before they went country-rock on 1968’s Sweetheart of the Rodeo…Yes, some great songs were left behind on the albums, but important cuts like I’ll Feel a Whole Lot Better, The Bells of Rhymney, and Chimes of Freedom are included, making this pretty close to a definitive single-disc summary of the Byrds' prime” (Erlewine).

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Link(s):

Previous Album: Younger Than Yesterday (1967) The Byrds’ DMDB page Next Album: The Notorious Byrd Brothers (1968)
Gene Clark’s DMDB page Michael Clarke’s DMDB page David Crosby’s DMDB page Chris Hillman’s DMDB page Roger McGuinn’s DMDB page

Last updated July 20, 2008.