Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Charted: March 14, 1981

Rating: 3.910 (average of 12 ratings)

Genre: pop/rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. In the Air Tonight
  2. This Must Be Love
  3. Behind the Lines
  4. The Roof Is Leaking
  5. Droned
  6. Hand in Hand
  7. I Missed Again
  8. You Know What I Mean
  9. Thunder and Lightning
  10. I’m Not Moving
  11. If Leaving Me Is Easy
  12. Tomorrow Never Knows


sales in U.S. only 5 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 1.5 million
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 16 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 7
peak on U.K. album chart 1 3

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • In the Air Tonight (1/17/81) #19 US, #2 UK, #2 AR. Sales: ½ million
  • I Missed Again (3/7/81) #19 US, #14 UK, #8 AR
  • Behind the Lines (4/4/81) #58 AR
  • If Leaving Me Is Easy (5/30/81) #17 UK


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

Face Value
Phil Collins
“The beginning of Phil Collins’ massively successful solo career coincided with the discord in his first marriage, turning Face Value into a compelling churn of emotions, from the utter disgust of In the Air Tonight (where Collins dryly comments, ‘If you told me you were drowning / I would not lend a hand’) to the delight he feels in exploring a new relationship (This Must Be Love). Collins’ thundering drums and punchy horn arrangements – a close approximation of Earth, Wind & Fire's sound, actually – clicked with the public, turning I Missed Again and ‘In the Air Tonight’ into Top 20 singles and launching Collins’ career as one of the biggest and most unlikely stars of the ‘80s” (Durchholz).

Review Source(s):

Last updated March 26, 2008.