Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: Sept. 14, 1993

Rating: 4.523 (average of 11 ratings)

Genre: mainstream/ alternative rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Round Here
  2. Omaha
  3. Mr. Jones
  4. Perfect Blue Buildings
  5. Anna Begins
  6. Time and Time Again
  7. Rain King
  8. Sullivan Street
  9. Ghost Train
  10. Raining in Baltimore
  11. A Murder of One


sales in U.S. only 7 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 100,000
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 8.5 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 4
peak on U.K. album chart 16

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Mr. Jones (11/27/93) #5a US, #28 UK, #2 AR, #2 MR, #25 AC. Airplay: 1 million
  • Round Here (4/16/94) #31a US, #70 UK, #11 AR, #7 MR
  • Rain King (7/16/94) #66a US, #49 UK, #4 AR
  • A Murder of One (11/19/94) #17 AR

Notes: A deluxed edition was released in 2007 that added six demos to the original track listing and a second CD of thirteen live songs from the last show of the August and Everything After tour.


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

August and Everything After
Counting Crows
“When the prevailing guitar jingle of Mr. Jones cascaded over radio in the early ‘90s, it was a sure sign that the Counting Crows were a musical force to be reckoned with. Their debut album, August and Everything After, burst at the seams with both dominant pop harmonies and rich, hearty ballads, all thanks to lead singer Adam Duritz” (DeGagne).

“The lone guitar work of ‘Mr. Jones’ coupled with the sweet, in-front pull of Duritz’s voice kicked off the album in full force. The starkly beautiful and lonely sounding Round Here captured the band’s honest yet subtle talent for singing ballads, while Omaha is lyrically reminiscent of a Springsteen tune. The fusion of hauntingly smooth vocals with such instruments as the Hammond B-3 organ and the accordion pumped new life into the music scene, and their brisk sound catapulted them into stardom” (DeGagne).

“On Rain King, the piano takes over as its aloof flair dances behind Duritz with elegant crispness. The slower-paced Raining in Baltimore paints a perfectly gray picture and illustrates the band’s ease at conveying mood by eliminating the tempo” (DeGagne).

“Most of the songs here engage in overly contagious hooks that won’t go away, making for a solid bunch of tunes. Containing the perfect portions of instrumental and vocal conglomeration, the Counting Crows showed off their appealing sound to its full extent with their very first album.” (DeGagne).

Review Source(s):

Last updated April 5, 2008.