Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: March 9, 2004

Rating: 4.107 (average of 21 ratings)

Genre: dance rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Jacqueline
  2. Tell Her Tonight
  3. Take Me Out
  4. The Dark of the Matinee
  5. Auf Achse
  6. Cheating on You
  7. This Fire
  8. Darts of Pleasure
  9. Michael
  10. Come on Home
  11. 40’


sales in U.S. only 1 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 900,000
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. 1 million
sales worldwide - estimated 2.9 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 32
peak on U.K. album chart 3

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Darts of Pleasure (11/18/03) --
  • Take Me Out (1/12/04) #66 US, #3 UK, #3 MR
  • The Dark of the Matinee (4/19/04) #8 UK
  • Michael (8/16/04) #17 UK
  • This Fire (10/30/04) #17 MR


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more. Nationwide Mercury Prize – UK award for Album of the Year. Click to go to Mercury site.

Franz Ferdinand
Franz Ferdinand
“While the Darts of Pleasure EP proved that Franz Ferdinand had a way with equally sharp lyrics and hooks, and the Take Me Out single took their sound to dramatic new heights, their self-titled debut album offers the most expansive version of their music yet” (Phares).

“From the first track, Jacqueline, which begins with a brooding acoustic prelude before jumping into a violently vibrant celebration of hedonism, Franz Ferdinand is darker and more diverse than the band's previous work suggested” (Phares).

Auf Ausche has an unsettling aggression underneath its romantic yearning, its cheap synth strings and pianos underscoring its low-rent moodiness and ruined glamour” (Phares).

“And even in the album’s context, ‘Take Me Out’ remains unmatched for sheer drama; with its relentless stomp and lyrics like ‘I’m just a cross hair/ I’m just a shot away from you,’ it's deliciously unclear whether it’s about meeting a date or a firing squad” (Phares).

“The wonderfully dry wit the band employed on Darts of Pleasure’s ‘Shopping for Blood’ and ‘Van Tango’ is used more subtly: the oddly radiant Matinee captures romantic escapism via dizzying wordplay” (Phares).

Michael, meanwhile, is a post-post-punk ‘John, I’m Only Dancing,’ by equal turns macho and fey; when Alex Kapranos proclaims ‘This is what I am/ I am a man/ So come and dance with me, Michael,’ it’s erotic as well as homoerotic” (Phares).

“Love and lust make up a far greater portion of Franz Ferdinand than any of the band’s other work; previously, Franz Ferdinand’s strong suit was witty aggressiveness, and the shift in focus has mixed results” (Phares).

“There’s something a little too manic and unsettled about Franz Ferdinand to make them completely convincing romantics, but Come On Home has swooning, anthemic choruses guaranteed to melt even those who hate swooning, anthemic choruses. Fortunately, the album includes enough of their louder, crazier songs to please fans of their EPs” (Phares).

Darts of Pleasure remains one of the best expressions of Franz Ferdinand’s shabby glamour, campy humor, and sugar-buzz energy, and Tell Her Tonight, which debuted on the Darts of Pleasure EP, returns in a full-fledged version that's even more slinky, menacing, and danceable than the demo hinted it might be” (Phares).

“And if Franz Ferdinand's aim has always been to get people dancing, then Cheating on You’s churned-up art punk and close, Merseybeat-like harmonies suggest some combination of slam dancing and the twist that could sweep dancefloors” (Phares).

“Despite its slight unevenness, Franz Ferdinand ends up being rewarding in different ways than the band’s previous work was, and it's apparent that they’re one of the more exciting groups to come out of the garage rock/post-punk revival” (Phares).

Review Source(s):

Last updated November 14, 2008.