Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: Spring 1988

Rating: 3.315 out of 2 ratings

Genre: rock > neo-progressive

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

Click on a song title for lyrics.

  1. Overture [1:36]
  2. The Last Thing on Your Mind [4:07]
  3. In Every Line [3:38]
  4. This Warm Night [4:27]
  5. Imagemaker [4:30]
  6. Because of You [5:05]
  7. Everything We Are [4:23]
  8. New Patriots [2:30]
  9. Can’t Make This Love Go Away [4:48]
  10. The World Just Gets Smaller [5:28]
  11. Power Reprise [1:10]
  12. Because of You (11th Hour Mix) [9:26]
  13. Finale [1:57]

All songs are produced, engineered, arranged, and written by Kevin Gilbert, copyright 1987 at The Recording Studio, Sunnyvale, Ca., during the winter of 1987. If you listen very carefully you can hear it raining between cuts (Thomas).

Total Running Time: 50:00


sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated --


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart --
peak on U.K. album chart --

The Players:

  • Kevin Gilbert Lead Vocal, Piano, Bazooki and Keyboards
  • Stan Cotey Guitar, Keyboards and Background Vocals
  • Michael Abowd Keyboards and Sequences
  • Chris Beveridge Bass, background vocals
  • J. Scott Smith Drums, Triggers, Loops and Background Vocals
Details from

Notes: It is assumed that the 11th Hour Mix of “Because of You” was not on the original release, but this is not known for sure.

The Power of Suggestion
Band member Chris Beveridge explains the origin of some of the songs: “There was a collection of songs left over from a few different projects: This Warm Night and World Just Gets Smaller from the earlier Giraf, Because of You and Imagemaker from a band Kevin, Scott and I previously had together and these tracks and a few others became the first CD” (Beveridge).

“Given the time it was released, [The Power of Suggestion is] an interesting and worthwhile effort. The style is very much European sounding dance pop, with some progressive rock elements creeping in amongst the conventional structures, but only a little. Really it’s a Gilbert solo album, in that he played all the instruments as well as singing (The View from Here, which followed, has Giraffe expanding into more of a band). The vocals here are good, but with less of the sardonic expression characteristic of Gilbert's later work. The lyrics are better than average for this style and he proves his potential already both as a singer/songwriter and as a musician” (Thomas).

“What's most interesting is the inclusion of vocal phrases, picked up from various sources, in a way that…anticipates some of the later work of Porcupine Tree (both are probably influenced by Pink Floyd)…A cute example is the closing one, taken from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. ‘We are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams’” (Thomas).

“Mostly though, these quotes tie into the loose theme of suggestion, with many sounding like they are from self-improvement tapes. The drum machines get a bit relentless in places and the music is sometimes a bit underworked and simplistic (more guitars and less keyboards might have broadened the sound) but, as a whole, it works and does include some fine songs. An indication of greater things to come” (Thomas).

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Links:

Previous Kevin Gilbert album – NRG: No Reasons Given (1984) Kevin Gilbert’s DMDB page Giraffe’s DMDB page Next Kevin Gilbert album – Giraffe: The View from Here (1989)

Last updated April 2, 2008.