September 17, 1991



hard rock



Album Tracks:

  1. Civil War
  2. 14 Years
  3. Yesterdays
  4. Knockiní on Heavenís Door
  5. Get in the Ring
  6. Shotgun Blues
  7. Breakdown
  8. Pretty Tied Up
  9. Locomotive
  10. So Fine
  11. Estranged
  12. You Could Be Mine
  13. Donít Cry (alternate version)
  14. My World

Sales (in millions):



1 2
1 1

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Knockiní on Heavenís Door (7/21/90) #2 UK, #18 AR
  • Civil War (8/4/90) #11 UK, #4 AR
  • You Could Be Mine (6/29/91) #29 US, #3 UK, #3 AR, sales: 0.5 m
  • Pretty Tied Up (3/21/92) #35 AR
  • Yesterdays (10/17/92) #72 US, #8 UK, #13 AR
  • Estranged (12/11/93) #16 AR


Use Your Illusion II

Guns Ní Roses


ďUse Your Illusion II is more serious and ambitious than I, but itís also considerably more pretentious. Featuring no less than four songs that run over six minutes, II is heavy on epics, whether itís the charging funk metal of Locomotive, the antiwar Civil War, or the multipart EstrangedSTE

ďAs if an attempt to balance the grandiose epics, the record is loaded with an extraordinary amount of filler. 14 Years may have a lean, Stonesy rhythm, and Duff McKaganís Johnny Thunders homage, So Fine, may be entertaining, but thereís no forgiving the ridiculous Get in the Ring, where Axl Rose threatens rock journalists by name because they gave him bad reviews; the misinterpretation of Dylanís Knockiní on Heavenís Door; another version of Donít Cry; and the bizarre closer, My World, which probably captures Roseís instability as effectively as the tortured poetry of his epics.Ē STE

ďThat said, there are numerous strengths to Use Your Illusion II; a couple of songs have a nervy energy, and for all their pretensions, the overblown epics are effective, though strangely enough, they reveal notorious homophobe Roseís aspirations of being a cross between Elton John and Freddie Mercury. But the pompous production and poor pacing make the album tiring for anyone who isnít a dedicated listener.Ē STE

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Link(s):

Knockiní on Heavenís Door (live video)

Civil War (video)

You Could Be Mine (video)

Yesterdays (video)

Estranged (video)

Click on box above to check out the DMDB on Facebook.

Last updated September 16, 2011.