November 27, 1970



classic rock



Album Tracks, Disc 1:

  1. I’d Have You Anytime
  2. My Sweet Lord
  3. Wah-Wah
  4. Isn’t It a Pity (Version One)
  5. What Is Life
  6. If Not for You
  7. Behind That Locked Door
  8. Let It Down
  9. Run of the Mill
  10. Beware of Darkness
  11. Apple Scruffs
  12. Ballad of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)
  13. Awaiting on You All
  14. All Things Must Pass

Album Tracks, Disc 2:

  1. I Dig Love
  2. Art of Dying
  3. Isn’t It a Pity (Version Two)
  4. Hear Me Lord
  5. Out of the Blue *
  6. It’s Johnny’s Birthday *
  7. Plug Me In *
  8. I Remember Jeep *
  9. Thanks for the Pepperoni *

* These songs were the Apple Jam cuts which comprised the original LP’s sides five and six.

Sales (in millions):

3.0 *

* The RIAA actually certifies this as having 6 million in sales since they count double albums as twice the sales.


1 7
1 7

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • My Sweet Lord (11/28/70) #1 US, #1 UK, #10 AC, sales: 0.5 m
  • What Is Life (2/27/71) #10 US, #31 AC


All Things Must Pass

George Harrison


As the first triple album issued by a solo artist, WK All Things Must Pass shredded George Harrison’s reputation as “the quiet Beatle,” proving that he, in fact, had plenty to say. Originally the album was packed as two LPs for the vinyl release and then a third album, called Apple Jam, collected informal jams which Harrison led with accompaniment by some of his famous musician friends. This latter material makes for the albums only “significant flaw: the jams… are entirely dispensable, and have probably only been played once or twice by most of the listeners that own this record.” RU

However, in all other ways this is “a very moving work” RU that is, “Without a doubt, Harrison’s…best.” RU “Harrison crafted material that managed the rare feat of conveying spiritual mysticism without sacrificing his gifts for melody and grand, sweeping arrangements. Enhanced by Phil Spector’s lush orchestral production, and Harrison’s own superb slide guitar, nearly every song is excellent: Awaiting on You All, Beware of Darkness, the Dylan collaboration I’d Have You Anytime, Isn’t It a Pity, and the hit singles My Sweet Lord and What Is Life are just a few of the highlights.” RU

Harrison had accumulated songs (including The Art of Dying and “Isn’t It a Pity”) from as far back as 1966. WK In regards to the latter, John Lennon had rejected the song from inclusion on a Beatles’ album and Harrison had contemplated giving it to Frank Sinatra. WK

In 1968, Harrison crafted some more songs when he visited Bob Dylan and The Band in Woodstock, New York. “I’d Have You Anytime,” co-written with Dylan, came out of this period and several other songs from this era were attempted but eventually rejected for the All Things album. WK Harrison would also tackle a Dylan cover, If Not for You, a result of Harrison’s participation in Dylan’s starting sessions for the 1970 album New Morning. WK

During the Beatles’ 1969 Get Back sessions (work that would eventually become 1970’s final Beatles’ album, Let It Be), Harrison introduced early versions of the title track, Let It Down, and Window, Window. Harrison also wrote Wah-Wah during this tense period in which he temporarily departed from the Beatles. WK

While touring with Delaney & Bonnie in late 1969, Harrison began writing “My Sweet Lord.” Delaney & Bonnie’s backing group would also become an important entity to Harrison as he would use them on All Things. WK That collective included Eric Clapton, Carl Radle, Bobby Whitlock, and Jim Gordon – who would all participate in the Clapton-led Derek & the Dominos project.

The album would start coming together between August and September of 1970. Harrison enlisted Phil Spector, who worked on the Beatles’ Let It Be album, to give the album “a heavy and reverb-oriented sound,” WK although Harrison would later regret the decision, saying in the press kit for the album’s 30th anniversary reissue that it resulted in “too much echo.” WK

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Link(s):

My Sweet Lord (live)

What Is Life (fan-made photo montage)

Isn’t It a Pity (demo; audio only)

If Not for You (live rehearsal with Bob Dylan)

Click on box above to check out the DMDB on Facebook.

Last updated November 25, 2011.