Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: October 1967

Rating: 4.528 (average of 9 ratings)

Genre: classic rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. David Watts
  2. Death of a Clown [DAVE DAVIES]
  3. Two Sisters
  4. No Return
  5. Harry Rag
  6. Tin Soldier Man
  7. Situation Vacant
  8. Love Me Till the Sun Shines
  9. Lazy Old Sun
  10. Afternoon Tea
  11. Funny Face
  12. End of the Season
  13. Waterloo Sunset


sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated --


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 153
peak on U.K. album chart 35

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Waterloo Sunset (5/5/67) #2 UK
  • Death of a Clown (8/67) --
  • Autumn Almanac * (10/13/67) #3 UK
  • Wonderboy * (4/5/68) #36 UK
* bonus tracks added to original album

Notes: The album has also been released with eight bonus tracks – “Act Nice and Gentle,” “Autumn Almanac,” “Suzannah’s Still Alive,” “Wonderboy,” “Polly,” “Lincoln County,” “There Is No Life without Love,” and an alternate version of “Lazy Old Sun.”


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

Something Else
The Kinks
Face to Face was a remarkable record, but its follow-up, Something Else, expands its accomplishments, offering 13 classic British pop songs. As Ray Davies’ songwriting becomes more refined, he becomes more nostalgic and sentimental, retreating from the psychedelic and mod posturings that had dominated the rock world. Indeed, Something Else sounds like nothing else from 1967. The Kinks never rock very hard on the album, preferring acoustic ballads, music hall numbers, and tempered R&B to full-out guitar attacks. Part of the album’s power lies in its calm music, since it provides an elegant support for Davies’ character portraits and vignettes. From the martial stomp of David Watts to the lovely, shimmering Waterloo Sunset, there’s not a weak song on the record, and several – such as the allegorical Two Sisters, the Noël Coward-esque End of the Season, the rolling Lazy Old Sun, and the wry Situation Vacant – are stunners. And just as impressive is the emergence of Dave Davies as a songwriter. His Dylanesque Death of a Clown and bluesy rocker Love Me Till the Sun Shines hold their own against Ray’s masterpieces, and help make Something Else the endlessly fascinating album that it is” (Erlewine).

Review Source(s):

Last updated April 16, 2008.