Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

* live recording *




Sept. 10, 1975


4.463 (average of 8 ratings)


hard rock


“One of the greatest live hard rock recordings of all time.” – Greg Prato, All Music Guide

Album Tracks:

  1. Deuce
  2. Strutter
  3. Got to Choose
  4. Hotter Than Hell
  5. Firehouse
  6. Nothin’ to Lose
  7. C’mon and Love Me
  8. Parasite
  9. She
  10. Watchin’ You
  11. 100,000 Years
  12. Black Diamond
  13. Rock Bottom
  14. Cold Gin
  15. Rock and Roll All Nite
  16. Let Me Go, Rock ‘N’ Roll

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only 4.0
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 4.0


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 9
peak on U.K. album chart 49

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Rock and Roll All Nite * (5/17/75) #12 US, #13 AR

* See Notes.


The studio version of “Rock and Roll All Nite” was released as a single in support of Kiss’ third studio album, 1975’s Dressed to Kill. It peaked at #68 on the pop charts. When Alive! was released later in the year, a live version of the song charted, this time going all the way to #12. More than 20 years later, the song charted again, this time landing on the album rock chart on 3/30/96, in support of their MTV Unplugged album, and peaking at #13.





“Despite Kiss’ reputation as a live act, which emphasized theatrics (such as explosions, smoking guitar solos, fire breathing, and blood spitting), as much as it did the music, their notoriety did not translate to increased record sales.” WKAlive! was the album that catapulted Kiss from cult attraction to mega-superstars. It was their first Top Ten album, remaining on the charts for 110 weeks and eventually going quadruple platinum. Culled from shows in Detroit, New Jersey, Iowa, and Cleveland on the Dressed to Kill tour, the record features producer Eddie Kramer doing a masterful job of capturing the band’s live performance on record. The band’s youthful energy is contagious, and with positively electric versions of their best early material, it’s no mystery why Alive! is widely regarded as one of the greatest live hard rock recordings of all time.” GP

Rock and Roll All Nite became a Top 20 smash and was the main reason for the album’s success, but there are many other tracks that are just as strong – Deuce, Strutter, Firehouse, Parasite, She, 100,000 Years, Black Diamond, and Cold Gin all shine in a live setting.” GP

“There has been considerable debate as to how much use was made of studio overdubs. [Band member] Gene Simmons states…that very little corrective work was done in the studio and that most of the studio time was devoted strictly to mixing down the multi-track recordings.” WK “In the early 1990s, [producer] Eddie Kramer stated there were a few overdubs to correct the most obvious mistakes: strings breaking or off-key notes, for instance. However, in recent years, Kramer has stated that the only original live recording on the album is Ace Frehley’s guitar…He also [later] stated the only original live recording on the album is Peter Criss’ drums. In addition, on the recent VH1 special of the story of Kiss, the band members themselves make it more known that the album was severely doctored in the studio.” WK

Regardless, “Alive! remains Kiss’ greatest album ever. An essential addition to any rock collection.” GP

Review Source(s):

Click on box above to check out the DMDB on Facebook.

Last updated March 28, 2011.