Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

* compilation *

Recorded: 1992-2001
Released: Nov. 13, 2001

Rating: 3.977 (average of 16 ratings)

Genre: dance pop

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Deeper and Deeper
  2. Erotica
  3. Human Nature
  4. Secret
  5. Don’t Cry for Me Argentina
  6. Bedtime Story
  7. The Power of Good-Bye
  8. Beautiful Stranger
  9. Frozen
  10. Take a Bow
  11. Ray of Light
  12. Don’t Tell Me
  13. What It Feels Like for a Girl
  14. Drowned World/ Substitute for Love
  15. Music

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only 1.0
sales in U.K. only - estimated 0.6
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. 2 million
sales worldwide - estimated 5.5


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 7
peak on U.K. album chart 2

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Erotica (10/17/92) #2a US, #3 UK, sales: 0.5 m
  • Deeper and Deeper (12/5/92) #7 US, #6 UK
  • Secret (10/8/94) #3 US, #5 UK, #2 AC, sales: 0.5 m
  • Take a Bow (12/17/94) #1 US, #16 UK, #1 AC, #40 RB, sales: 0.5 m
  • Bedtime Story (2/25/95) #42 US, #4 UK
  • Human Nature (6/24/95) #46 US, #8 UK, #57 RB
  • Don’t Cry for Me Argentina (12/28/96) #8 US, #3 UK, #21 AC
  • Frozen (2/28/98) #2 US, #1 UK, #8 AC. Gold single.
  • Ray of Light (5/16/98) #5 US, #2 UK, sales: 0.5 m
  • Drowned World / Substitute for Love (9/5/98) #10 UK
  • The Power of Goodbye (10/17/98) #11 US, #6 UK, #14 AC
  • Beautiful Stranger (6/12/99) #11a US, #2 UK, #23 AC
  • Music (8/12/00) #1 US, #1 UK, sales: 1.0 m
  • Don’t Tell Me (12/9/00) #4 US, #4 UK, sales: 0.5 m
  • What It Feels Like for a Girl (4/10/01) #23 US, #7 UK, #27 AC

Greatest Hits Volume 2 (GHV2)
“Why isn't this as good as it should be? Why does it seem to have songs missing when it really doesn’t? Why is it slightly disappointing? You could blame it on the non-chronological sequencing, which tends to rob this collection of Madonna’s ‘90s hits of any momentum it might have had, or you could blame it on the presence of radio edits (which is actually sort of a good thing, since these are indeed the versions that were on the air), or the very presence of Don’t Cry for Me Argentina, which simply does not feel comfortable next to the rest of the savvy, modern music here.” STE

“But the real problem is that during the ‘90s, Madonna was a true album artist, even as she was making singles as tremendous as Take a Bow, Deeper and Deeper, Ray of Light, Don’t Tell Me, and the non-LP Beautiful Stranger. Which means that these songs don't really hold together when taken together, since they were designed to be part of a bigger context – either their parent album or the airwaves of the time. Taken on their own, most of these are still pretty tremendous, but tossed together on GHV2, the end result is less than the sum of its parts, even if this is a good way to get all of Madge’s ‘90s hits at once.” STE

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Links:

Previous Album: Music (2000) Madonna’s DMDB page Next Album: American Life (2003)

Click on box above to check out the DMDB on Facebook.

Last updated February 1, 2011.