Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Recorded: 1971

Released: 1973

Rating: 4.450 (average of 10 ratings)

Genre: reggae

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Lively Up Yourself
  2. Small Axe
  3. Duppy Conqueror
  4. Trench Town Rock
  5. African Herbsman
  6. Keep on Moving
  7. Fussing and Fighting
  8. Stand Alone
  9. All in One
  10. Don’t Rock My Boat
  11. Put It On
  12. Sun Is Shining
  13. Kaya
  14. Riding High
  15. Brain Washing
  16. 400 Years


sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated --


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart --
peak on U.K. album chart --


  • Duppy Conqueror (12/70) --
  • Kaya (2/71) --
  • Small Axe (2/71) --
  • Lively Up Yourself (1971) --
  • Trench Town Rock (11/71) --
  • Keep on Moving (9/72) #17 UK

Notes: This album features 11 of the 12 songs that appeared originally on Soul Revolution. “Memphis,” the lone song not represented here, is featured in dub version on the 2003 Sanctuary/ Trojan reissue, along with various dubs for “Duppy Conqueror” (known as “Zig Zag”), “Trench Town Rock” (called Grooving Kingston”), “Lively Up Yourself,” “Small Axe” (known as “Axe Man”), “Moving,” and “Keep on Skanking.” Also included are “More Axe,” an alternate version of “Kaya,” and an alternate of the "All in One Medley," that features “Bend Down Low,” “Nice Time,” “Simmer,” and the original "One Love" track by the Upsetters called "Copasetic."

"Lively Up Yourself" later showed up on Natty Dread; both “Lively Up Yourself” and "Trench Town Rock" both later showed up on Live!.

African Herbsman
Bob Marley & The Wailers
“To Bob Marley's emotionally charged music and lyrics, add the tight riddims and harmonies of the Wailers and then put all of that talent into the ceaselessly creative hands of production wizard Lee "Scratch" Perry. What you get is a 16-track reggae masterpiece capturing what is perhaps some of the best music Bob Marley & the Wailers ever committed to tape. The songs range from beautiful love songs like Don’t Rock the Boat to cathartic political anthems like Brain Washing, but even with the broad scope, no tracks miss the mark. They all cut straight to the heart and burn with an urgency rarely felt in music of any genre. So defining are the tracks that Marley himself was to return to the same themes later in his career, reviving such classics as Lively Up Yourself on Natty Dread, Trench Town Rock on Live!, and Kaya on Kaya, among others. While this is a Bob Marley & the Wailers album, Perry's unique production almost steals the show. Perry's bare-bones, heavy sound provides an interesting contrast to the slicker approach taken on Catch a Fire, produced by Bob Marley & the Wailers and Chris Blackwell and also made in 1973. Catch a Fire has an almost rock edge to it, but on African Herbsman, one can hear Perry's swirling mix madness lurking just beneath the surface of each Trench Town-tough track” (Hilburn).

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Links:

Previous Album: Soul Rebels (1970) Bob Marley’s DMDB page Next Album: Chances Are (1972)

Last updated April 6, 2008.