Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.


April 11, 1994


3.950 (average of 10 ratings)


punk rock



Album Tracks:

  1. Time to Relax
  2. Nitro (Youth Energy)
  3. Bad Habit
  4. Gotta Get Away
  5. Genocide
  6. Something to Believe In
  7. Come Out and Play (Keep ‘Em Separated)
  8. Self Esteem
  9. It’ll Be a Long Time
  10. Killboy Powerhead
  11. What Happened to You?
  12. So Alone
  13. Not the One
  14. Smash

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only 6.2
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. 2.0
sales worldwide - estimated 12.2


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 4
peak on U.K. album chart 21

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Come Out and Play (5/28/94) #38a US, #10 AR, #1 MR
  • Self Esteem (8/13/94) #45a US, #37 UK, #7 AR, #4 MR
  • Gotta Get Away (11/26/94) #58a US, #43 UK, #15 AR, #6 MR



The Offspring


“The Offspring’s second album for Epitaph did the impossible: it landed in the Top Five [of the U.S. Billboard album charts], unheard of for independent records. The Offspring crossed over due to the raucous, Eastern-tinged single Come Out and Play, which stopped and started just like Nirvana, only without the Seattle trio’s recklessness. The record stayed in the charts because the Offspring sounded relentlessly heavy, no matter how much the band claimed to be punk. Their tempos are slower than traditional hardcore, and their attack is as heavy as Metallica. But they acted like they were punk, with odes to no Self Esteem and singing about fighting in school. Nothing on the album matches the incessant catchiness of the singles, but Smash is a solid record, filled with enough heavy riffs to keep most teenagers happy.” STE

Review Source(s):

Click on box above to check out the DMDB on Facebook.

Last updated March 28, 2011.