Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

* Compilation *

Recorded: 1977-1993

Released: Nov. 16, 1993

Rating: 4.504 (average of 22 ratings)

Genre: classic rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. American Girl
  2. Breakdown
  3. Anything That’s Rock ‘n’ Roll *
  4. Listen to Her Heart
  5. I Need to Know
  6. Refugee
  7. Don’t Do Me Like That
  8. Even the Losers
  9. Here Comes My Girl
  10. The Waiting
  11. You Got Lucky
  12. Don’t Come Around Here No More
  13. I Won’t Back Down
  14. Runnin’ Down a Dream
  15. Free Fallin’
  16. Learning to Fly
  17. Into the Great Wide Open
  18. Mary Jane’s Last Dance
  19. Something in the Air
  20. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around [with Stevie Nicks] *
* See Notes.

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only 10.0
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 12.0


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 5
peak on U.K. album chart 10

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Anything That’s Rock ‘N’ Roll * (6/25/77) #36 UK
  • American Girl (8/13/77) #40 UK
  • Breakdown (11/5/77) #40 US
  • I Need to Know (6/17/78) #41 US
  • Listen to Her Heart (9/23/78) #59 US
  • Don’t Do Me Like That (11/17/79) #10 US
  • Refugee (1/26/80) #15 US
  • Here Comes My Girl (4/26/80) #59 US
  • The Waiting (5/2/81) #19 US, #1 AR
  • Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around * (7/25/81) #3 US, #50 UK, #2 AR
  • You Got Lucky (11/13/82) #20 US, #1 AR
  • Don’t Come Around Here No More (3/16/85) #13 US, #50 UK, #2 AR
  • I Won’t Back Down (4/15/89) #12 US, #28 UK, #1 AR, #29 MR
  • Runnin’ Down a Dream (5/6/89) #23 US, #55 UK, #1 AR
  • Free Fallin’ (5/6/89) #7 US, #64 UK, #1 AR, #17 AC
  • Learning to Fly (6/22/91) #28 US, #46 UK, #1 AR, #36 AC
  • Into the Great Wide Open (9/21/91) #92 US, #4 AR
  • Something in the Air (10/30/93) #53 UK, #19 AR
  • Mary Jane’s Last Dance (11/6/93) #14 US, #52 UK, #1 AR
* See Notes.

Notes: “The U.K. release also includes the track Anything That’s Rock ‘n’ Roll, originally from the album Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, as track 3, with all subsequent tracks in the same order.” WK

The collection was remastered in 2008, given a new cover, and replaced “‘Something in the Air’ with Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around, Petty’s duet with Stevie Nicks from her 1981 album Bella Donna.” WK


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

Greatest Hits
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
“He’s sold millions of albums, filled arenas, and hobnobbed with George Harrison, Bob Dylan and Roy Orbison, but Tom Petty’s driving heartland rock has often been taken for granted by the same critics who hail John Mellencamp as a genius. Greatest Hits is an airtight argument for Petty’s own greatness.” JR

“Starting with American Girl, the rollicking, Byrds-inspired single from Petty’s first album in 1976, this compilation presents a chronological overview of the guitarist-vocalist’s career with and without the Heartbreakers, also chronically underrated as one of today’s best bands. Every one of the 16 older tracks is a well-crafted gem, full of solid guitar hooks (Here Comes My Girl), arresting images (Don’t Come Around Here No More) and simple but poetic lyrics (The Waiting).” JR

“Petty isn’t an innovator; he’s a talented craftsman with impeccable taste and a strong sense of rock history, internalizing influences ranging from the Beatles’ psychedelic masterpiece, Revolver, to the best of ‘70s punk. (It’s interesting to remember that early efforts such as Refugee and Don’t Do Me Like That first won Petty attention as a New Wave artist). With his Dylanesque vocals and chiming 12-string guitars, Petty is more often linked these days with the sounds of the ‘60s. But recent tunes such as Learning to Fly and Into the Great Wide Open are as smart, relevant and…alternative as anything in MTV’s Buzz Bin.” JR

Petty’s classics are presented “along with two new tracks – the excellent Mary Jane’s Last Dance and a cover of Thunderclap Newman’s Something in the Air – on one essential disc” STE “proving that Petty is one of the best rockers of his time.” STE

Review Source(s):

Last updated October 15, 2009.