Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: April 8, 1960

Rating: 4.244 (average of 9 ratings)

Genre: early rock and roll

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Make Me Know It [2:00]
  2. Fever [3:33]
  3. The Girl of My Best Friend (Bobrick/Butler) [2:23]
  4. I Will Be Home Again [2:34]
  5. Dirty, Dirty Feeling [1:34]
  6. The Thrill of Your Love [3:01]
  7. Soldier Boy [3:06]
  8. Such a Night (Chase) [3:00]
  9. It Feels So Right [2:10]
  10. The Girl Next Door Went A-Walking [2:13]
  11. Like a Baby (Stone) [2:40]
  12. Reconsider Baby (Fulson) [3:40]
  13. Stuck on You (McFarland/ Schroeder) [2:20] *
  14. Fame and Fortune [2:29] *
  15. Are You Lonesome Tonight? (Handman/ Turk) [3:06] *
  16. I Gotta Know [2:15] *
  17. It's Now or Never (DiCapua/ Gold/ Schroeder) [3:15] *
  18. A Mess of Blues (Pomus/ Shuman) [2:40] *
* bonus tracks added to CD reissue


sales in U.S. only ½ million
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated ½ million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 2
peak on U.K. album chart 1 1

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Stuck on You * (4/4/60) #1 US, #3 UK, #6 RB, #27 CW. Sales: 1 million
  • Fame and Fortune * (4/4/60) #17 US
  • Such a Night (7/25/64) #16 US, #13 UK
  • It Feels So Right (6/19/65) #55 US
  • The Girl of My Best Friend (9/4/76) #9 UK
  • It’s Now or Never * (7/18/60) #1 US, #1 UK, #6 RB. Sales: 1 million
  • A Mess of Blues * (7/18/60) #32 US, #2 UK
  • Are You Lonesome Tonight? * (11/14/60) #1 US, #1 UK, #3 RB, #22 CW. Sales: 2 million
  • I Gotta Know * (11/14/60) #20 US
* bonus track added to reissue

Notes: The CD reissue adds six bonus tracks (see track listing). Everything from this album is also on the box set From Nashville to Memphis: The ‘60s Masters.

Elvis Is Back!
Elvis Presley
Elvis Is Back! refered to the return of Elvis from his two-year army hitch. The exclamation point may have been as much for RCA Records as the fans; the archival releases For LP Fans Only and A Date with Elvis, as well as a second Gold Records compilation were released in Elvis’ absence. None of those graced the top 10 as had every official album to that point (Elvis Presley, Elvis, Loving You, Elvis’ Christmas Album, and King Creole). In fact, all but King Creole topped the charts (it peaked at #2), so the respective chart peaks of 19, 32, and 31 for the aforementioned interim albums certainly had to have RCA chomping at the bit for Elvis’ return.

Elvis delivered with an album that “comes off better than on any of his other albums since arriving at RCA” (Eder). He sounds like “a musician as much as a ‘star’ (he’d always had a lot more to say about running his sessions than the critics who loathed his RCA years indicated)” (Eder).

In regards to specific songs, “Dirty, Dirty Feeling and It Feels So Right showed he could still rock out and challenge authority and propriety, while Reconsider Baby and Like a Baby offer some of his best blues performances; but The Thrill of Your Love (a very gospel-tinged number), Soldier Boy, Girl of My Best Friend, and Girl Next Door Went a’ Walking, also displayed the rich, deep vocalizing that would challenge critics’ expectations of Elvis Presley playing rhythm guitar throughout” (Eder).

“The 1999 remastering of this classic album features the complete contents of the March 20, 1960, RCA Hollywood session plus the dawn-to-dusk April 2 Nashville session that rounded out the album, for a total of 18 songs, including the three singles and their B-sides from those sessions” (Eder).

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Links:

previous studio or soundtrack recording: King Creole (ST: 1958) Elvis Presley’s DMDB page next studio or soundtrack recording: G.I. Blues (ST: 1960)

Last updated April 9, 2008.