Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: December 1971

Rating: 4.647 (average of 13 ratings)

Genre: folk

Quotable: “Prine seems to spring into being as a fully formed singer-songwriter” “tackling folk balladry, country, and rock with ease” – Ian Landau,

Album Tracks:

  1. Illegal Smile
  2. Spanish Pipedream
  3. Hello in There
  4. Sam Stone
  5. Paradise
  6. Pretty Good
  7. Your Flag Decal Won’t Get You into Heaven Anymore
  8. Far from Me
  9. Angel from Montgomery
  10. Quiet Man
  11. Donald and Lydia
  12. Six O’Clock News
  13. Flashback Blues


sales in U.S. only ¾ million
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated ¾ million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 154
peak on U.K. album chart --

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Angel from Montgomery


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

John Prine
John Prine
“Prine’s 1971 self-titled debut set the tone for the rest of his career. A critical smash and a commercial disappointment, the record contains many of his best known compositions. Proving himself capable of tackling folk balladry, country, and rock with ease, Prine seems to spring into being as a fully formed singer-songwriter at age 24. Lyrically diverse, Prine offers topical songs such as Sam Stone, the tale of a drug addicted Vietnam vet, achingly sad songs, such as the oft-covered Angel from Montgomery, and, of course, his trademark wit gets ample time in the spotlight. Produced by the legendary Arif Mardin (Aretha Franklin, the Modern Jazz Quartet, Hall and Oates), the record is understated, letting Prine’s comfy voice drive things. When needed, the famous house band at American Recording Studios in Memphis kicks in tasteful backing” (Landau).

Review Source(s):

Last updated January 28, 2009.