Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Charted: May 27, 1978

Rating: 4.108 (average of 12 ratings)

Genre: classic rock

Quotable: “one of the great rock records of its era” – Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide

Album Tracks:

  1. Hollywood Nights
  2. Still the Same
  3. Old Time Rock & Roll
  4. Till It Shines
  5. Feel Like a Number
  6. Ain’t Got No Money
  7. We’ve Got Tonight
  8. Brave Strangers
  9. The Famous Final Scene


sales in U.S. only 5 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 7.5 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 4
peak on U.K. album chart 31

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Still the Same (5/13/78) #4 US, #27 AC
  • Hollywood Nights (8/12/78) #12 US, #42 UK
  • We’ve Got Tonight (10/28/78) #13 US, #22 UK, #29 AC
  • Old Time Rock & Roll (4/7/79) #19a US. Airplay: 2 million
  • Feel Like a Number * (12/19/81) #48 US
* Originally released as B-side for “Still the Same;” chart information is for live version.

Stranger in Town
Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band
Night Moves was in the pipeline when Live Bullet hit, and wound up eclipsing the double live set anyway, so Stranger in Town is really the record where Bob Seger started grasping the changes that happened when he became a star. It happened when he was old enough to have already formed his character. Even as celebrity creeps in, as on Hollywood Nights, Seger remains a middle-class, Midwestern rocker, celebrating Old Time Rock & Roll, realizing old flames are still the same, and still feeling like a number” (Erlewine).

“Musically, it’s as lively as Night Moves, rocking even harder in some places and being equally as introspective in the acoustic numbers. If it doesn't feel as revelatory as that record, in many ways it does feel like a stronger set of songs. Yes, musically, it doesn’t offer any revelations, but it still feels impassioned, both in its performances and songs, and it's still one of the great rock records of its era” (Erlewine).

Review Source(s):

Last updated October 9, 2008.