Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Charted: May 27, 1957

Rating: 4.833 (average of 3 ratings)

Genre: traditional pop

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Night and Day
  2. I Wish I Were in Love Again
  3. I Got Plenty O’ Nuttin’
  4. I Guess I’ll Have to Change My Plans
  5. Nice Work if You Can Get It
  6. Stars Fell on Alabama
  7. No One Ever Tells You
  8. I Won’t Dance
  9. Lonesome Road
  10. At Long Last Love
  11. You’d Be So Nice to Come Home To
  12. I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good)
  13. From This Moment On
  14. If I Had You
  15. Oh! Look at Me Now


sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated --


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 1 19
peak on U.K. album chart 1 7

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • none


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

A Swingin’ Affair
Frank Sinatra
“In some ways, A Swingin’ Affair! is Songs for Swingin’ Lovers!, Pt. 2, following the same formula of Sinatra’s hit album of the previous year. Beneath the surface, there are enough variations on A Swingin' Affair! to make it a distinctive, and equally enjoyable listen. The most noticeable difference between the two records is their basic approach. Where Songs for Swingin’ Lovers! swung hard but managed to stay rather light, A Swingin' Affair! is a forceful, brassy album – it exudes a self-assured, confident aura. It is a hard, jazzy album. However, the attack is more brash” (Erlewine).

Review Source(s):

Last updated April 13, 2008.