Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: Oct. 24, 1995

Rating: 4.009 (average of 11 ratings)

Genre: rock > alternative

Quotable: “One of the most ambitious and indulgent albums in rock history…it’s a rewarding and compelling one as well.” – Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide

Album Tracks, Disc 1:

  1. Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness
  2. Tonight, Tonight
  3. Jellybelly
  4. Zero
  5. Here Is No Why
  6. Bullet with Butterfly Wings
  7. To Forgive
  8. An Ode to No One
  9. Love
  10. Cupid de Locke
  11. Galapogos
  12. Muzzle
  13. Porcelina of the Vast Oceans
  14. Take Me Down

Album Tracks, Disc 2:

  1. Where Boys Fear to Tread
  2. Bodies
  3. Thirty-Three
  4. In the Arms of Sleep
  5. 1979
  6. Tales of a Scorched Earth
  7. Thru the Eyes of Ruby
  8. Stumbleine
  9. X.Y.U.
  10. We Only Come Out at Night
  11. Beautiful
  12. Lily (My One and Only)
  13. By Starlight
  14. Farewell and Goodnight

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only 4.5 *
sales in U.K. only - estimated 0.3
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 10.0

* Because the RIAA actually certifies double albums for twice the amount, they certified this album as selling 9 million copies.


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 1 1
peak on U.K. album chart 4

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Bullet with Butterfly Wings (10/21/95) #22 US, #20 UK, #4 AR, #2 MR
  • 1979 (11/25/95) #9a US, #16 UK, #1 AR, #1 MR. Gold single.
  • Zero (2/17/96) #49a US, #15 AR, #9 MR
  • Tonight, Tonight (5/18/96) #33a US, #7 UK, #4 AR, #5 MR
  • Muzzle (9/14/96) #57a US, #10 AR, #8 MR
  • Thirty-Three (11/23/96) #39 US, #21 UK, #18 AR, #2 MR


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more. Q Magazine’s Top 100 Albums

Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness
Smashing Pumpkins
“The Smashing Pumpkins didn’t shy away from making the follow-up to the grand, intricate Siamese Dream. With Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness, the band turns in one of the most ambitious and indulgent albums in rock history. Lasting over two hours and featuring 28 songs, the album is certainly a challenging listen. To Billy Corgan’s credit, it’s a rewarding and compelling one as well. Although the artistic scope of the album is immense,” STE the songs “are as eclectic as their themes are epic and ambitious” DC and “the Smashing Pumpkins flourish in such an overblown setting. Corgan’s songwriting has never been limited by conventional notions of what a rock band can do, even if it is clear that he draws inspiration from scores of ‘70s heavy metal and art rock bands. Instead of copying the sounds of his favorite records, he expands on their ideas.” STE

Among the highlights are “emotionally over-the-top pop extravaganzas like the string-swelling Tonight Tonight, the techno via new wave of 1979,” DC and “the gentle piano of the title track.” STE These “sit comfortably against the volcanic rush of JellybellySTE and “the Metallica-influenced alternative rock of ZeroDC “In between those two extremes lies an array of musical styles, drawing from rock, pop, folk, and classical.” STE

“Some of the songs don’t work as well as others, but Mellon Collie never seems to drag. Occasionally they fall flat on their face” STE and “Corgan’s thin whine isn’t much of an instrument, but he makes the most of it by writing smart songs that take emotional chances that more-typical alt rockers would deem uncool.” DC

However, taken as a whole the album proves that the Pumpkins were “one of the more creative and consistent bands of the ‘90s.” STE “Pessimistic and feeling trapped but still wanting to believe in love, in a future, in something – this is the sound of Gen X at the millennium, with all the self-indulgence and power that would suggest.” DC

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Links:

previous album: Siamese Dream (1993)

Bullet with Butterfly Wings



Tonight, Tonight

Muzzle (fan-made video)


Click on box above to check out the DMDB on Facebook.

Last updated March 17, 2011.