Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: June 14, 1997

Rating: 4.313 (average of 8 ratings)

Genre: alternative rock

Quotable: “collection of hypnotic headphone symphonies” – Jason Ankeny, All Music Guide

Album Tracks:

  1. Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space
  2. Come Together
  3. I Think I’m in Love
  4. All of My Thoughts
  5. Stay with Me
  6. Electricity
  7. Home of the Brave
  8. The Individual
  9. Broken Heart
  10. No God Only Religion
  11. Cool Waves
  12. Cop Shoot Cop


sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated 100,000
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 100,000


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart --
peak on U.K. album chart 4

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Electricity (8/9/97) #32 UK
  • I Think I’m in Love (2/14/97) #27 UK
  • Come Together (7/6/98) #39 UK

Notes: --


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space
“Spiritualized’s third collection of hypnotic headphone symphonies is their most brilliant and accessible to date. Largely forsaking the drones and minimalistic, repetitive riffs which have characterized his work since the halcyon days of Spacemen 3, Jason Pierce re-focuses here and spins off into myriad new directions; in a sense, Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space, with its majestic, Spector-like glow, is his classic rock album. Come Together and the blistering Electricity are his most edgy, straightforward rockers in eons, while the stunning I Think I’m in Love settles into a divided-psyche call-and-response R&B groove, and the closing Cop Shoot Cop (with guest Dr. John) locks into a voodoo blues trance” (Ankeny).

“Lyrically, Pierce is at his most open and honest: The record is a heartfelt confessional of love and loss, with redemption found only in the form of drugs – designed, no less, to look like a prescription pharmaceutical package, Ladies and Gentlemen is pointedly explicit in its description of drug use as a means of killing the pain on track after track. Conversely, never before have the literal implications of the name ‘Spiritualized’ been explored in such earnest detail – the London Community Gospel Choir appears prominently on a number of songs, while another bears the title No God, Only Religion, pushing the music even further toward the kind of cosmic gospel transcendence it craves. A masterpiece” (Ankeny).

Review Source(s):

Last updated November 18, 2008.