March 15, 1969



blue-eyed soul



Album Tracks:

  1. Just a Little Lovin’
  2. So Much Love
  3. Son of a Preacher Man
  4. I Don’t Want to Hear It Anymore
  5. Don’t Forget about Me
  6. Breakfast in Bed
  7. Just One Smile
  8. The Windmills of Your Mind
  9. In the Land of Make Believe
  10. No Easy Way Down
  11. I Can’t Make It Alone

Sales (in millions):




Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Son of a Preacher Man (11/30/68) #10 US, #9 UK
  • Don’t Forget about Me (3/1/69) #64 US
  • Breakfast in Bed (4/12/69) #91 US
  • The Windmills of Your Mind (5/3/69) #31 US, #3 AC
  • In the Land of Make Believe (10/4/69) #27 AC


There’s also a reissue with “three bonus tracks… ‘Willie & Laura Mae Jones’ and ‘That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho)’" (Wynn) as well as “an unreleased version of ‘What Do You Do When Love Dies’" (Wynn), a song from the original Memphis sessions. The 25-song Rhino reissue includes those three songs as well as “songs left over from sessions for the unfairly underrated Gamble- and Huff-produced Brand New Me album, and the unissued 1971 Jeff Barry-produced sides for a never-released third Atlantic album” (Eder). Also featured are “covers of David Gates' ‘Make It With You’ and Carole King's ‘You've Got a Friend,’ the gospel-flavored ‘Love Shine Down,’ and the hard-rocking ‘Natchez Trace’.” BE


Dusty in Memphis

Dusty Springfield


“Sometimes memories distort or inflate the quality of recordings deemed legendary, but in the case of Dusty in Memphis, the years have only strengthened its reputation. The idea of taking England's reigning female soul queen to the home of the music she had mastered was an inspired one. The Jerry Wexler/Tom Dowd/Arif Mardin production and engineering team picked mostly perfect songs, and those that weren't so great were salvaged by Springfield's marvelous delivery and technique. This set has definitive numbers in So Much Love, Son of a Preacher Man, Breakfast in Bed, Just One Smile, I Don't Want to Hear About It Anymore, and Just a Little Lovin'…It's truly a disc deserving of its classic status.” RW

Review Source(s):

Son of a Preacher Man

Click on box above to check out the DMDB on Facebook.

Last updated April 18, 2011.