Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

* Compilation *

Recorded: 1984-1994

Released: November 8, 1994

Rating: 4.327 (average of 11 ratings)

Genre: adult alternative rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. When We Dance
  2. If You Love Somebody Set Them Free
  3. Fields of Gold
  4. All This Time
  5. Fortress Around Your Heart
  6. Be Still My Beating Heart
  7. They Dance Alone (Cueca Solo)
  8. If I Ever Lose My Faith in You
  9. Fragile
  10. Why Should I Cry for You?
  11. Englishman in New York
  12. We’ll Be Together
  13. Russians
  14. This Cowboy Song


sales in U.S. only 2 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 900,000
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. 4 million
sales worldwide - estimated 6.9 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 7
peak on U.K. album chart 2

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • If You Love Somebody Set Them Free (6/8/85) #3 US, #26 UK, #1 AR, #39 AC, #17 RB
  • Fortress Around Your Heart (7/6/85) #7a US, #49 UK, #1 AR, #32 AC
  • Russians (12/7/85) #15a US, #12 UK, #34 AR
  • We’ll Be Together (10/10/87) #7 US, #41 UK, #39 RB, #20 AR
  • Be Still My Beating Heart (1/16/88) #15 US, #2 AR, #37 AC
  • Englishman in New York (2/20/88) #84 US, #15 UK, #32 AR, #48 AC
  • Fragile (4/9/88) #70 UK
  • All This Time (1/12/91) #5 US, #12 UK, #9 AC, #1 AR, #1 MR
  • Why Should I Cry for You? (5/18/91) #32 AR
  • If I Ever Lose My Faith in You (2/13/93) #14a US, #14 UK, #8 AC, #5 AR, #4 MR
  • Fields of Gold (5/15/93) #12a US, #16 UK, #2 AC, #24 AR, #12 MR
  • When We Dance (10/29/94) #38 US, #9 UK, #12 AC
  • This Cowboy Song (2/11/95) #15 UK

Fields of Gold: The Best of Sting 1984-1994
“Early in his solo career, Sting defined himself as a man of taste, choosing to work with jazz musicians instead of rockers. Inevitably, this meant he walked the thin line between sophisticated pop and adult contemporary, but he did it with grace from 1985's Dream of the Blue Turtles to 1993's Ten Summoner's Tales. Unfortunately, Fields of Gold: The Best of Sting doesn't illustrate what a deft trick he pulled off with that quartet of albums. Naturally, Fields of Gold concentrates on his hit singles, just like any other greatest-hits collection, but Sting's material sounds surprisingly tame in this context. Sure, there is a number of great songs here — enough to state his case as a fine songwriter or to satisfy his casual fans. Still, these songs are safe choices and all share a similarly tranquil quality, which means the collection itself becomes a little monotonous. Nevertheless, Fields of Gold performs the necessary service of rounding up all of the big hits…and an alternate version of We’ll Be Together — and offering them on one disc, which is reason enough to make it worthwhile, even with its flaws” (Erlewine).

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Link(s):

Previous Album: Ten Summoner’s Tales (1993) Sting’s DMDB page Next Album: Mercury Falling (1996)

Last updated May 30, 2008.