Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: Nov. 4, 1997

Rating: 3.786 (average of 7 ratings)

Genre: country

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Man! I Feel Like a Woman!
  2. I’m Holdin’ on to Love to Save My Life
  3. Love Gets Me Every Time
  4. Don’t Be Stupid (You Know I Love You)
  5. From This Moment On (with Bryan White)
  6. Come on Over
  7. When
  8. Whatever You Do, Don’t!
  9. If You Wanna Touch Her, Ask!
  10. You’re Still the One
  11. Honey, I’m Home
  12. That Don’t Impress Me Much
  13. Black Eyes, Blue Tears
  14. I Won’t Leave You Lonely
  15. Rock This Country
  16. You’ve Got a Way


sales in U.S. only 20 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 3.34 million
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. 7 million
sales worldwide - estimated 36 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 2
peak on U.K. album chart 1 11

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Love Gets Me Every Time (10/4/97) #25 US, #1 CW. Gold single.
  • From This Moment On (11/15/97) #4 US, #9 UK, #58 CW, #1 US
  • Man! I Feel Like a Woman! (11/15/97) #18a US, #3 UK, #4 CW, #16 AC. Gold single.
  • Don’t Be Stupid (You Know I Love You) (11/15/97) #40 US, #5 UK, #6 CW
  • Come on Over (11/15/97) #43a US, #6 CW
  • Honey, I’m Home (11/15/97) #1 CW
  • You’re Still the One (1/24/98) #2 US, #10 UK, #1 CW, #1 AC. Platinum single.
  • When (6/13/98) #18 UK
  • That Don’t Impress Me Much (12/12/98) #5a US, #3 UK, #8 CW, #8 AC
  • You’ve Got a Way (6/19/99) #42a US, #13 CW, #6 AC
  • Rock This Country (1/15/00) #30 CW
  • I’m Holdin’ on to Save My Life (7/8/00) #17 CW

Notes: An international version of the CD was released in 1999 that contained some remixes of the original tracks and a different track listing.


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more. One of the Top 100 All-Time World’s Best-Selling Albums The World’s Best Selling Album of the Year. Click to go to awards page. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame/NARM’s Definitive Albums

Come on Over
Shania Twain
“The come-from-nowhere success of Shania Twain’s previous album, The Woman in Me, proved that the world was ready for a combination of traditional instruments, girl-power themes, and dance-pop dynamics. Whether Twain is a modern-day Dolly Parton or a country music Spice Girl is a matter of perspective. But with her third album, she accentuates the sing-along choruses and simple dance rhythms while downplaying the country elements. As a pop move, it works wonderfully for her, earning Twain a valued spot on MTV, VH-1, and pop radio” (McCall).

“The emphasis is on fun rather than depth, of course. But no one can accuse her of being stingy: she and her Svengali-like producer/husband, slick-rock king Robert ‘Mutt’ Lange (Def Leppard, Bryan Adams, AC/DC), load down the album with 16 songs, all of them quite radio-friendly” (McCall).

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Links:

Previous Album: The Woman in Me (1995) Next Album: Up! (2002)

Last updated March 27, 2008.