Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

cover of cast album

Opened on Broadway:
November 24, 1950

Recorded: December 3, 1950

Released: January 8, 1951

Rating: 4.585 (average of 6 ratings)

Genre: show tunes

Quotable: “one of the greatest musical comedies ever produced” – National Recording Registry

Album Tracks:

  1. Runyonland Music/ Fugue for Tinhorns/ Follow the Fold
  2. The Oldest Established
  3. I’ll Know
  4. A Bushel and a Peck
  5. Adelaide’s Lament
  6. Guys and Dolls
  7. If I Were a Bell
  8. My Time of Day
  9. I’ve Never Been in Love Before
  10. Take Back Your Mink
  11. More I Cannot Wish You
  12. Luck Be a Lady
  13. Sue Me
  14. Sit Down, You’re Rockin’ the Boat
  15. Marry the Man Today
  16. Reprise: Guys and Dolls


sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated --


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 1 1
peak on U.K. album chart --

Singles/Hit Songs *:

A Bushel and a Peck
- Perry Como/Betty Hutton (1950) #3
- Margaret Whiting/Jimmy Wakely (1950) #6
- Doris Day (1950) #16
- Andrews Sisters (1950) #22
- Johnny Desmond (1950) #29

If I Were a Bell
- Frankie Laine (1950) #30

Luck Be a Lady
- Frank Sinatra (1965) --

Notes: * In the pre-rock era, it was common for multiple versions of Broadway songs to chart instead of the originals from the show itself. By 1964, musicals didn’t dominate the charts, but it was still more likely for a cover of a Broadway tune to chart than for the original.


Cast album rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more. Rated best album of the year by DMDB. Grammy Hall of Fame. Click to go to HOF page. In the National Recording Registry of the Library of Congress. Click to go to Website.

Guys and Dolls (cast album)
Frank Loesser (composer)
“The Broadway musical fable Guys and Dolls” (NRR), “based on the stories of Damon Runyon about New York gamblers” (Ruhlmann) “is considered to be one of the greatest musical comedies ever produced” (NRR). It “became a stunning success upon its Broadway opening in 1950. While Abe Burrows’ libretto was much praised, the show's main asset is Frank Loesser’s songs, which are unfailingly tuneful and which accurately represent the vernacular of Runyon’s characters, from Fugue for Tinhorns, a trio song full of horse racing slang, to Sit Down You’re Rockin' the Boat, a revival meeting pastiche in which a gambler claims to have found salvation. Luck Be a Lady, a gambler’s ode to good fortune, became a standard” (Ruhlmann).

“Winning as these are, love songs such as I’ll Know and I’ve Never Been in Love Before are equally affecting. And that isn’t even to mention the songs that became contemporary hits, If I Were a Bell and A Bushel and a Peck” (Ruhlmann).

“The recording by its original cast preserves aurally many definitive performances of the show's musical treasures” (NRR). Vivian Blaine was “a comic singer effective at putting across the humorous material, and Robert Alda…proved to be a smooth-voiced, commanding lead. The original Broadway cast album…remains the definitive version of a score that has not been recorded as often as one might expect, given the show’s perennial appeal” (Ruhlmann).

“After a 1991 upgrade for the CD era, it was reissued in 2000 to mark the show’s 50th anniversary. In addition to 24-bit remastering and a redesigned CD booklet with lots of photographs, this version contained as bonus tracks the four recordings released in 1955 from the movie soundtrack. This material makes an interesting gloss on the original recordings and is a welcome addition” (Ruhlmann).

Review Source(s):

Last updated November 21, 2008.