Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: November 18, 1997

Rating: 3.500 (average of 7 ratings)

Genre: adult contemporary/pop

Quotable: “music by committee…made to appeal to the widest possible audience” – Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide

Album Tracks:

  1. The Reason
  2. Immortality (with the Bee Gees)
  3. Treat Her Like a Lady
  4. Why Oh Why
  5. Love Is on the Way
  6. Tell Him (with Barbra Streisand)
  7. Where Is the Love
  8. When I Need You
  9. Miles to Go Before I Sleep
  10. Us
  11. Just a Little Bit of Love
  12. My Heart Will Go On
  13. I Hate You Then I Love You
  14. To Love You More
  15. Let’s Talk about Love (with Bryan Adams)


sales in U.S. only 10 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 1.98 million
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. 9 million
sales worldwide - estimated 31 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 1 1
peak on U.K. album chart 1 5

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Tell Him (10/25/97) #58a US, #3 UK, #5 AC
  • My Heart Will Go On (12/13/97) #1 US, #1 UK, #1 AC. Gold single.
  • The Reason (12/20/97) #11 UK
  • Immortality (7/18/98) #5 UK


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more. One of the Top 100 All-Time World’s Best-Selling Albums Billboard Magazine’s Album of the Year Juno Awards for Canadian & International Albums of the Year. Click to go to DMDB awards page.

Let’s Talk about Love
Celine Dion
As the love theme from the Titanic soundtrack, Celine Dion’s My Heart Will Go On pulled off the unprecedented feat of propelling not one, but two albums to the top of the charts – and then, as if that wasn’t enough, pushing each to 30 million in sales globally.

Falling into You finally established Celine Dion as a superstar in America, so its sequel, Let’s Talk About Love, was designed to consolidate her position as a newly minted star. The album was constructed as a blockbuster, featuring Dion’s trademark melodramatic ballads, some carefully tailored dance-pop, a bevy of duets with the likes of Barbra Streisand and the Bee Gees and production and songs from adult contemporary gurus David Foster, Jim Steinman, and Walter Afanasieff” (Erlewine).

“Given that so many talented craftsmen worked on Let’s Talk About Love, it makes sense that a number of the cuts succeed according to adult contemporary terms – they are predictably sweeping showcases for Dion’s soaring, technically skilled voice. As usual, the singles…shine the most brilliantly, but even the filler is immaculately produced” (Erlewine).

“If the end result doesn't quite gel as an album, that shouldn't be surprising – this is music by committee, a product that was made to appeal to the widest possible audience. Such a calculated execution guarantees that anyone who liked one of the singles shouldn’t be disappointed by Let’s Talk About Love, but it doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll remember all of the record after it's finished playing” (Erlewine).

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Link(s):

Previous English Language Studio Album: Falling into You (1996) Next Non-Seasonal English Recording: All the Way…A Decade of Song (compilation: 1991-1999)

Last updated February 4, 2009.