Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: July 18, 1980

Rating: 4.345 (average of 15 ratings)

Genre: alternative rock

Quotable: “a deserved classic” – Ned Raggett, All Music Guide

Album Tracks:

  1. Going Up
  2. Do It Clean *
  3. Stars Are Stars
  4. Pride
  5. Monkeys
  6. Crocodiles
  7. Rescue
  8. Villers Terrace
  9. Read It in Books *
  10. Pictures on My Wall
  11. All That Jazz
  12. Happy Death Men
* bonus tracks not on original UK release

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated --


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart --
peak on U.K. album chart 17

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Pictures on My Wall (4/7/79) --
  • Rescue (5/80) #62 UK
  • Crocodiles (4/18/81) #37 UK

Notes: “The 2004 expanded edition of Crocodiles restores the original U.K. running order, bumping ‘Do It Clean’ [and ‘Read It in Books’] down to the bonus track section. The Shine So Hard EP is the highlight of this very worthwhile section with excellent live versions of ‘Zimbo’ and ‘Over the Wall.’ Also included are early versions of ‘Villiers Terrace,’ ‘Pride," and ‘Simple Stuff.’” RS



Echo & The Bunnymen
“Inspired by psychedelia, sure. Bit of Jim Morrison in the vocals? Okay, it’s there. But for all the references and connections that can be drawn (and they can), one listen to Echo’s brilliant, often harrowing debut album and it’s clear when a unique, special band presents itself.” RS

“Beginning with the dramatic, building climb of Going Up, Crocodiles at once showcases four individual players sure of their own gifts and their ability to bring it all together to make things more than the sum of their parts. Will Sergeant in particular is a revelation – arguably only Johnny Marr and Vini Reilly were better English guitarists from the ‘80s, eschewing typical guitar-wank overload showboating in favor of delicacy, shades, and inventive, unexpected melodies. More than many before or since, he plays the electric guitar as just that, electric not acoustic, dedicated to finding out what can be done with it while never using it as an excuse to bend frets. His highlights are legion, whether it’s the hooky opening chime of Rescue or the exchanges of sound and silence in Happy Death Men.” RS

“Meanwhile, the Pattinson/De Freitas rhythm section stakes its own claim for greatness, the former’s bass driving yet almost seductive, the latter’s percussion constantly shifting rhythms and styles while never leaving the central beat the song to die. Pride is one standout moment of many, Pattinson’s high notes and De Freitas’ interjections on what sound like chimes or blocks inspired touches.” RS

“Then there’s McCulloch himself, and while the imagery can be cryptic, the delivery soars, even while his semi-wail conjures up, as on the nervy, edgy picture of addiction Villiers Terrace, ‘People rolling round on the carpet/Mixing up the medicine.’ Brisk, wasting not a note and burning with barely controlled energy, Crocodiles remains a deserved classic.” RS

Review Source(s):

Last updated February 19, 2010.