Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: January 1995

Rating: 4.643 (average of 7 ratings)

Genre: dance/ electronica

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Release the Pressure
  2. Afro-Left
  3. Melt
  4. Song of Life
  5. Original
  6. Black Flute
  7. Space Shanty
  8. Inspection (Check One)
  9. Storm 3000
  10. Open Up
  11. 21st Century Poem

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated 0.3
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 0.3


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart --
peak on U.K. album chart 3

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Release the Pressure (1992) #13 UK
  • Song of Life (12/12/92) #59 UK
  • Open Up (11/13/93) #13 UK
  • Original (3/25/95) #18 UK
  • Afro-Left (8/5/95) #22 UK


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more. Q Magazine’s Top 100 Albums
Leftism spans most of Paul Daley and Neil Barnes’ singles output from 1992 to 1995 (excepting only ‘Not Forgotten’) and adds several new tracks. Far from being just a stale progressive house LP, it spans a wide range of influences (tribal, dub, trance) and includes a good mixture of vocal tracks (with Toni Halliday, John Lydon, and Earl Sixteen) and instrumental workouts.” JB

Review Sources:

Click on box above to check out the DMDB on Facebook.

Last updated March 5, 2011.