Click to return to Daveís Music Database home page.

Released: Nov. 17, 1980

Rating: 3.826 (average of 11 ratings)

Genre: classic rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Just Like Starting Over JL
  2. Kiss, Kiss, Kiss YO
  3. Cleanup Time JL
  4. Give Me Something YO
  5. Iím Losing You JL
  6. Iím Moving On YO
  7. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy) JL
  8. Watching the Wheels JL
  9. Yes, Iím Your Angel YO
  10. Woman JL
  11. Beautiful Boys YO
  12. Dear Yoko JL
  13. Every Man Has a Woman Who Loves Him YO
  14. Hard Times Are Over YO
  15. Help Me to Help Myself JL *
  16. Walking on Thin Ice YO *
  17. Central Park Stroll (Dialogue) YO *
JL John Lennon,
YO Yoko Ono

* bonus tracks added to 2000 reissue


sales in U.S. only 3 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 300,000
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI Ė click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 3.3 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 1 8
peak on U.K. album chart 1 2

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Just Like Starting Over (11/1/80) #1 US, #1 UK, #17 AC. Sales: Ĺ million
  • Woman (1/17/81) #2 US, #1 UK, #26 AR, #4 AC. Airplay: 2 million
  • Walkin on Thin Ice * (2/28/81) #58 US, #35 UK
  • Iím Losing You (3/21/81) #54 AR
  • Watching the Wheels (3/28/81) #10 US, #30 UK, #25 AR, #6 AC
* only on 2000 reissue


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Daveís Music Database. Click to learn more. Album of the Year Grammy winner. Click to go to awards page. Juno Award for International Album of the Year. Click to go to DMDB awards page.

Double Fantasy
John Lennon/ Yoko Ono
ďThe most distinctive thing about Double Fantasy, the last album John Lennon released during his lifetime, is the very thing that keeps it from being a graceful return to form from the singer/ songwriter, returning to active duty after five years of self-imposed exile. As legend has it, Lennon spent those years in domestic bliss, being a husband, raising a baby, and, of course, baking bread. Double Fantasy was designed as a window into that bliss and, to that extent, he decided to make it a joint album with Yoko Ono, to illustrate how complete their union wasĒ (Erlewine).

ďFor her part, Ono decided to take a stab at pop and while these are relatively tuneful for her, they nevertheless disrupt the feel and flow of Lennonís material, which has a consistent tone and theme. Heís surprisingly sentimental, not just when heís expressing love for his wife (Dear Yoko, Woman) and child (Beautiful Boy [Darling Boy]), but when heís coming to terms with his quiet years (Watching the Wheels, Cleanup Time) and his return to creative life. These are really nice tunes, and whatís special about them is their niceness Ė itís a sweet acceptance of middle age, which, of course, makes his assassination all the sadderĒ (Erlewine).

ďFor that alone, Double Fantasy is noteworthy, yet itís hard not to think that itís a bit of a missed opportunity Ė primarily because its themes would be stronger without the Ono songs, but also because the production is just a little bit too slick and constrained, sounding very much of its time. Ultimately, these complaints fall by the wayside because Lennonís best songs here cement the last part of his legend, capturing him at peace and in love. According to some reports, that perception was a bit of a fantasy, but sometimes the fantasy means more than the reality, and thatís certainly the case hereĒ (Erlewine).

Review Source(s):

Last updated February 4, 2009.