Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: April 28, 1992

Rating: 4.167 (average of 14 ratings)

Genre: rock > pop

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Why
  2. Walking on Broken Glass
  3. Precious
  4. Legend in My Living Room
  5. Cold
  6. Money Can’t Buy It
  7. Little Bird
  8. Primitive
  9. Stay by Me
  10. The Gift
  11. Keep Young and Beautiful


sales in U.S. only 2 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 1.2 million
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 3.2 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 23
peak on U.K. album chart 1 2

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Why (3/28/92) #34 US, #5 UK, #6 AC, #12 AR
  • Precious (6/6/92) #23 UK
  • Walking on Broken Glass (8/15/92) #12a US, #8 UK, #6 AC, #7 AR
  • Cold (10/31/92) #26 UK
  • Little Bird (1/23/93) #49 US, #3 UK


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more. Brits Award for Album of the Year. Click to go to awards page.

Annie Lennox
“Those expecting Annie Lennox to come out full-guns-blazing for her solo debut, Diva, with the high energy electro-Europop-meets-American- R&B of her Eurythmics work may have to wind their pacemakers down a notch. The enigmatic vocalist who made a career toying with different notions of gender plays on the concept of fame here – Lennox dresses up in the persona of a solitary Diva trapped by counterfeit glory. The framework offers an effective stage for Lennox’s husky voice, showcasing her as much more of a chanteuse than in the past. But the music is strangely muted and understated. In fact, the album almost works best as one integrated mood piece rather than a collection of individual songs. While Lennox succeeds in carving out a personality distinct from her Eurythmics days with Diva, one can't help but crave a shot of former partner Dave Stewart’s musical muscle” (Parisien).

Review Source(s):

Last updated April 7, 2008.