Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.


July 1994


4.188 (average of 8 ratings)





Album Tracks:

  1. Intro
  2. Break & Enter
  3. Their Law
  4. Full Throttle
  5. Voodoo People
  6. Speedway [Theme from Fastlane]
  7. The Heat (The Energy)
  8. Poison
  9. No Good (Start the Dance)
  10. One Love
  11. The Narcotic Suite: 3 Kilos
  12. The Narcotic Suite: Skylined
  13. The Narcotic Suite: Claustrophobic Sting

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated 0.3
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. 1.0
sales worldwide - estimated 1.3


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 198
peak on U.K. album chart 1 1

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • One Love (10/16/93) #8 UK
  • No Good (Start the Dance (5/28/94) #4 UK
  • Voodoo People (9/24/94) #13 UK
  • Poison (3/18/95) #15 UK


Q Magazine’s Top 100 Albums

Music for the Jilted Generation

The Prodigy


“The Prodigy’s response to the sweeping legislation and crackdown on raves contained in 1994’s Criminal Justice Bill is an effective statement of intent. Pure sonic terrorism, Music for the Jilted Generation employs the same rave energy that charged their debut, Experience, up the charts in Britain, but yokes it to a cause other than massive drug intake. Compared to their previous work, the sound is grubbier and less reliant on samples; the effect moved the Prodigy away from the American-influenced rave and acid house of the past and toward a uniquely British vision of breakbeat techno that was increasingly allied to the limey invention of drum ‘n’ bass.” JB

“As on Experience, there are so many great songs here that first-time listeners would be forgiven for thinking of a greatest-hits compilation instead of a proper studio album. After a short intro, the shattering of panes of glass on Break & Enter catapults the album ahead with a propulsive flair. Each of the four singles – Voodoo People, Poison, No Good (Start the Dance), and One Love – are excellent, though album tracks like Speedway and Their Law (with help from Pop Will Eat Itself) don’t slip up either. If Experience seemed like an excellent fluke, Music for the Jilted Generation is the album that announced the Prodigy were on the charts to stay.” JB

Review Source(s):

Click on box above to check out the DMDB on Facebook.

Last updated March 28, 2011.