Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

* compilation *

Recorded: 1966 to 1977

Released: November 1977

Rating: 4.584 (average of 7 ratings)

Genre: rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks, Disc 1:

  1. Down to the Wire
  2. Burned
  3. Mr. Soul
  4. Expecting to Fly
  5. Sugar Mountain
  6. I Am a Child
  7. The Loner
  8. The Old Laughing Lady
  9. Cinnamon Girl
  10. Down by the River
  11. Cowgirl in the Sand
  12. I Believe in You
  13. After the Gold Rush
  14. Southern Man
  15. Helpless

Album Tracks, Disc 2:

  1. Ohio
  2. Soldier
  3. Old Man
  4. A Man Needs a Maid
  5. Harvest
  6. Heart of Gold
  7. Star of Bethlehem
  8. The Needle and the Damage Done
  9. Tonight’s the Night (Part 1)
  10. Tired Eyes
  11. Walk On
  12. For the Turnstiles
  13. Winterlong
  14. Deep Forbidden Lake
  15. Like a Hurricane
  16. Love Is a Rose
  17. Cortez the Killer
  18. Campaigner
  19. Long May You Run


sales in U.S. only 1 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 100,000
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 2.5 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 43
peak on U.K. album chart 46

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Burned (7/15/67) #58 US
  • Expecting to Fly (1/13/68) #98 US
  • Cinnamon Girl (6/20/70) #55 US
  • Ohio (6/27/70) #14 US
  • Heart of Gold (2/5/72) #1 US, #10 UK, #8 AC. Gold single.
  • Old Man (4/29/72) #31 US
  • Walk On (7/13/74) #69 US


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

Neil Young
“Given the quirkiness of Neil Young's recording career, with its frequent cancellations of releases and last-minute rearrangements of material, it is a relief to report that this two-disc compilation is so conventional and so satisfying…It includes songs performed by Buffalo Springfield, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, and the Stills-Young Band, as well as solo work. In addition to five unreleased songs, Decade offers such key tracks as the Springfield’s Mr. Soul, Broken Arrow, and I Am a Child; Sugar Mountain, a song that had appeared only as a single before; Cinnamon Girl, Down by the River, and Cowgirl in the Sand from Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere; Southern Man and the title track from After the Gold Rush; and Old Man and the chart-topping Heart of Gold from Harvest. This is the material that built Young's reputation between 1966 and 1972, although he is more idiosyncratic with the later material, including the blockbusters Like a Hurricane and Cortez the Killer but mixing in more unreleased recordings as the set draws to a close.” WR

“He seems intent on making the album a listenable one that will appeal to a broad base of fans, and he succeeds despite the exclusion of much of the harrowing work of 1973-1975. Nevertheless, the album is an ideal sampler for new listeners, and since there is no one-disc Young compilation covering any significant portion of his career, this lengthy chronicle is the place to start.” WR

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Links:

Previous album: American Stars N’ Bars (1977) Neil Young’s DMDB page Next album: Comes a Time (1978)

Last updated February 19, 2010.