Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: October 4, 1994

Rating: 4.438 (average of 10 ratings)

Genre: alternative rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Ode to My Family
  2. I Can’t Be with You
  3. Twenty-One
  4. Zombie
  5. Empty
  6. Everything I Said
  7. The Icicle Melts
  8. Disappointment
  9. Ridiculous Thoughts
  10. Dreaming My Dreams
  11. Yeat’s Grave
  12. Daffodil’s Lament
  13. No Need to Argue

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only 7.0
sales in U.K. only - estimated 0.9
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. 5.0
sales worldwide - estimated 17.0


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 6
peak on U.K. album chart 2

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Zombie (10/1/94) #22a US, #14 UK, #32 AR, #1 MR
  • Ode to My Family (12/3/94) #39a US, #26 UK, #11 MR
  • I Can’t Be with You (3/11/95) #23 UK
  • Ridiculous Thoughts (5/20/95) #20 UK, #14 MR

Notes: A 1995 reissue added a bonus live disc.


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more. Juno Award for International Album of the Year. Click to go to DMDB awards page.

No Need to Argue
“With their surprise success behind them, the Cranberries went ahead and essentially created a sequel to Everybody Else is Doing It, So Why Can’t We with only tiny variations, with mixed results. The fact that the album is essentially a redo of previously established stylistic ground isn’t apparent in just the production, handled again by Stephen Street, or the overall sound, or even that one particularly fine song is called Dreaming My Dreams. Everybody wasn’t a laugh riot, to be sure, but No Need to Argue starts to see O’Riordan take a more commanding and unfortunately much more self-conscious role that ended up not standing the band in good stead later.” NR

“Lead single Zombie is the worst offender in this regard; the heavy rock trudge isn’t immediately suited for the band’s strengths (notably, O’Riordan wrote this without Noel Hogan); while the subject matter; the continuing Northern Ireland tensions; ends up sounding trivialized.” NR

“Opening cut Ode to My Family is actually one of the band’s best, with a lovely string arrangement created by O’Riordan, but her overdubbed vocals start showing her distinct vocal tics becoming a bit more gimmicky at the expense of the performance.” NR

“Where No Need succeeds best is when the Cranberries stick at what they know, resulting in a number of charmers like Twenty One, the uilleann pipes-touched Daffodil’s Lament, which has an epic sweep that doesn’t overbear like ‘Zombie,’ and the evocative Disappointment.” NR

Review Source(s):

Last updated November 15, 2010.