Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: August 26, 1997

Rating: 3.656 (average of 8 ratings)

Genre: alternative rock/ Britpop

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. D’You Know What I Mean?
  2. My Big Mouth
  3. Magic Pie
  4. Stand by Me
  5. I Hope, I Think, I Know
  6. The Girl in the Dirty Shirt
  7. Fade In-Out
  8. Don’t Go Away
  9. Be Here Now
  10. All Around the World
  11. It’s Gettin’ Better (Man!!)
  12. All Around the World (Reprise)


sales in U.S. only 1 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 1.8 million
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. 3 million
sales worldwide - estimated 8 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 2
peak on U.K. album chart 1 5

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • D’You Know What I Mean? (7/19/97) #49a US, #1 UK, #36 AR, #4 MR
  • Don’t Go Away (9/27/97) #35a US, #36 AR, #5 MR
  • Stand by Me (10/4/97) #2 UK
  • All Around the World (1/24/98) #1 UK, #15 MR


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

Be Here Now
“Arriving with the force of a hurricane, Oasis’ third album, Be Here Now, is a bright, bold, colorful tour de force that simply steamrolls over any criticism. The key to Oasis’ sound is its inevitability – they are unwavering in their confidence, which means that even the hardest rockers are slow, steady, and heavy, not fast.” STE

“That self-possessed confidence, that belief in their greatness, makes Be Here Now intensely enjoyable, even though it offers no real songwriting breakthroughs. Noel Gallagher remains a remarkably talented synthesist, bringing together disparate strands – D’You Know What I Mean? has an N.W.A drum loop, a Zeppelin-esque wall of guitars, electronica gurgles, and lyrical allusions to the Beatles and Dylan – to create impossibly catchy songs that sound fresh, no matter how many older songs he references.” STE

Noel “may be working familiar territory throughout Be Here Now, but it doesn’t matter because the craftsmanship is good. The Girl in the Dirty Shirt is irresistible pop, and epics like Magic Pie and All Around the World simply soar, while the rockers My Big Mouth, It’s Gettin’ Better (Man!!), and Be Here Now attack with a bone-crunching force. Noel is smart enough to balance his classicist tendencies with spacious, open production, filling the album with found sounds, layers of guitars, keyboards, and strings, giving the record its humongous, immediate feel.” STE

“The sprawling sound and huge melodic hooks would be enough to make Be Here Now a winner, but Liam Gallagher’s vocals give the album emotional resonance. Singing better than ever, Liam injects venom into the rockers, but he also delivers the nakedly emotional lyrics of Don’t Go Away with affecting vulnerability. That combination of violence and sensitivity gives Oasis an emotional core and makes Be Here Now a triumphant album.” STE

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Link(s):

previous album: Definitely Maybe (1994) next album: Be Here Now (1997)

Click on box above to check out the DMDB on Facebook.

Last updated March 4, 2011.